An uncontested divorce within the state of Georgia needs the understanding of each party member on spousal or child support, visitation rights, and property division, it is also commonly simpler, faster and less expensive. Under Georgia law, an uncontested divorce can generally be granted within 45 to 60 days, but not less than 30 days. These benefits are great, but the best part of an uncontested divorce is that is much less of burden on you, your companion, and your children than a challenged case. In the event that there are children present, operating pleasantly and securing a decent association with the opposite guardian can influence your personal satisfaction. In contrast, a harsh and taxing divorce could damage that relationship and could possibly cause great emotional turmoil and pressure for your children. Once each party member approves the Martial Settlement Agreement, the judge could support the separation with no more activity required from the divorce party members. Should a final hearing be required, only one member from the divorce party is required to obtained the judge’s signature on the divorce decree for the divorce to be finalized. All of the major legal requirements of a Georgia uncontested divorce are outlined in Title 19 – Domestic Relations of the Georgia Code (2017).
The First Requirement in the Georgia Uncontested Divorce Process
The separation procedure starts once one of the spouses files the Petition for Dissolution of Marriage, which is frequently titled as a “Complaint For Divorce”. However, before the Complaint for Divorce is filed, in an uncontested divorce – each of the party members (the spouses) will have formally settled upon all material terms and have agreed upon, but not limited to: reasonable visitation hours, alimony (it any), child support payments, property division and division of debt(s).
Arranging an Uncontested Divorce Settlement Agreement
The least expensive route to an agreeable settlement and an amicable divorce is when the divorcing spouses have a sit down session and make plan for their post-divorce lives. It is entirely possible that various couples find method to be testing due to their might be some form of resentment between the former spouses, if that is the case there is the option of finding a mediator. A good neutral third party to bring in would be a family law mediator who will assist you in organizing a settlement that works for each of you. Family law mediators do not have the power to force an alternative, but they are ready to assist you in attaining a mutually beneficial agreement for the party members. It is also advisable to hire a consulting lawyer to assist you preparing for the intervention sessions and to survey a planned settlement. In the event that you would like an additional organized strategy, or that you believe it would bode well for you to possess a professional person who’s paying special mind to your diversions then it is a good idea to research collaborative divorce. Once the big problems are figured out through dealing, intervention, or cooperation, one companion should file a document that is referred to as a complaint within the local Superior Court; it is also necessary to file the agreements as part of the separation method. At that time it’s simply a matter of waiting thirty one days and disclosure at the final hearing.
Acknowledgement of Service, Waiver of Venue and Jurisdiction
Only one spouse has to file the start Petition for Dissolution. The other spouse generally signs the Acknowledgment of Service and Consent to Jurisdiction that waives formal administration of the petition and any subsequent events within the case. The reason for this is to facilitate the separation method. Since the party members have conceded to everything ahead, there’s no demand for the administration of hearing notices or the service of process that are common in contested divorces. The Acknowledgment of Service and Consent to Jurisdiction is recorded with the Married Settlement Agreement and the petition.
Required Documents Filed along with the Uncontested Divorce Petition
Independent from the Petition for Dissolution (Complaint for Divorce), an Acknowledgment of Service, Consent to Jurisdiction and the Divorce Settlement Agreement will be required to be filed by the divorce parties. Also, the state of Georgia requests divorcing spouses to have prepared, signed and filed additional pleadings, despite the fact that the separation is uncontested. Each party member should file a Domestic Relations Financial Affidavit (DRFA). However, most courts in Georgia only require the plaintiff to file a DRFA in an uncontested divorce . Likewise, a reproduction of any past separation agreements the divorcing couple entered into should be documented and acknowledged if the parties wish to enforce it. Finally, the divorcing couple should file a Consent to Try – which allows the court to grant the divorce much faster than would be the usual in a contested divorce case.
What is a Default in a Georgia uncontested divorce?
In the event that the Petition for Dissolution is filed by one of the party members but the other spouse doesn’t take part in a married settlement agreement or neglects to sign an Acknowledgment of Service and Consent to Jurisdiction, the Petition should be served to that spouse, which they then have 30 days to respond. In the event that no reaction is filed by the end date, the non-reacting spouse is assumed to be in default, and therefore the party member who filed the initial Petition could file a motion for the court to issue a default dictum of divorce. In this case, a default separation is viewed as an uncontested divorce and whatever support is listed in the petition is generally granted. However, it is important to understand that a divorce filed in this manner is considered contested by the court and most experienced attorneys until the court issues the Final Decree of Divorce.
The Final Requirement in the Georgia Uncontested Divorce Process
In the event that there are no minor children, the divorce is allowed after thirty one days of the case being filed. A hearing could still be scheduled in which the spouse who initiated the petition comes goes before a judge and to answer some brief questions and to prove that the divorce is indeed mutual and equitable to the parties. A spouse’s lawyer could request a ruling to be waived by a motion to the court supported with affidavits signed by the parties. However, the court always has the discretion of calling the plaintiff in for a hearing as a requirement for the divorce to be granted.
Obtaining Legal Help with Your Georgia Uncontested Divorce
Most people find it necessary, or at least very desirable to retain an attorney’s help in negotiating and filing a Georgia uncontested divorce. Our experienced uncontested divorce attorneys have assisted hundreds of clients and can speak with you about your case. Call us at 770-609-1247 to discuss with one of our attorneys how we can help in your case. Contact >